Desoto County News

Superintendent’s Youth Leadership Council named

The DeSoto County Schools (DCS) Superintendent’s Youth Leadership Council for this school year was recognized by the DCS School Board on Thursday, Sept. 16. 

The program started in 2006, and it is designed to help high school students develop leadership skills. Students serve their junior and senior years and they study both government and entrepreneurship during their time in the program. 

Sponsors of the Superintendent’s Youth Leadership Council are instructors Jeff Shands and Amy Benson, both of DeSoto Central High School.  

Following is a listing of the council members, followed by photographs of each high school’s representatives, Supt. Cory Uselton, Shands, and Benson.

Superintendent’s Youth Leadership Council

Center Hill High School

  • Alexs Chen
  • Emma Kate Taylor
  • Ariadna Mendoza
  • Thomas Allen Sloan

DeSoto Central

  • Adrian Guerra
  • Bethany Walker
  • Aminata Ba
  • Emily Smith
  • Easton Wamble
  • Spencer Hardin
  • Hon Lin Tsai


  • Kennedy Eldridge
  • Rose Stafford
  • Peyton Williamson
  • Mattie Sanders
  • Eli Rogers
  • Addison Kuykendall
  • Sarah Floate
  • Katherine Bush
  • Jackson Uselton
  • Ben Sartor
  • Alexandria Taylor
  • Hannah Grace Crain
  • Sydney Guntharp
  • Maryn Ludwig

Horn Lake

  • Ethan Trillet
  • Cidney Warren
  • Khaniya Hare
  • Dezreke Douglas
  • Lauren Morano
  • Illiana Barshinger
  • Janel Marquez

Lake Cormorant

  • Kira Allen
  • Marcellus Odum
  • Kamdyn Montgomery
  • Alyson Nunn
  • Robert Price


  • Hayes Herren
  • Anna Clark Bridges
  • Caroline Catledge
  • Jarrett Morris
  • Jorja Carter
  • Preston Shands
  • Olivia Cashion
  • Samuel Overstreet
  • Amelia Bowers
  • Riley Littleton
  • Bella Love
  • Anna Katherine Wood

Olive Branch

  • Samantha Harris
  • Justice Ratliff
  • Fantasia Jones
  • Madolyn Holmes
  • Gracie Lee
  • Malik Mitchell
  • Kayla Taylor


  • Madison Washington
  • Jordan Jackson
  • Faith Joplin
  • Conner Roberson
  • Brandon Suh
Southaven High School
Olive Branch High School
Lewisburg High School
Lake Cormorant High School
Horn Lake High School
Hernando High School
DeSoto Central High School
Center Hill High School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *