County baseball players named all-state

Photo: Lewisburg pitcher Brady Tygart was one of two DeSoto County players named to the Mississippi Association of Coaches 6A All-State Baseball Team. (Bob Bakken/DeSoto County Sports)

Seven DeSoto County high school baseball players were included in the All-State Baseball Teams announced by the Mississippi Association of Coaches after the state tournaments were completed last weekend.  

The DeSoto County players on the MHSAA 6A first team were senior pitcher Brady Tygart of Lewisburg and junior pitcher Bradley Loftin of DeSoto Central. 

Second team picks on the MHSAA 6A All-State team from DeSoto County were Lewisburg senior pitcher Brayden Sanders and senior catcher Gray Bane along with DeSoto Central sophomore infielder Colton Coates,  junior outfielder Kristian Sprawlings, and junior utility player Brock Tapper.  

No DeSoto County players were included on the MHSAA 5A All-State team. 

Patrick Robey of 6A state champion Madison Central was named Coach of the Year and pitcher/outfielder Braden Montgomery of Madison Central was named 6A Player of the Year. 

Saltillo won the 5A state title and coach Eric Reynolds was selected as Coach of the Year. Catcher Matthew Roncalli of Saltillo was named Player of the Year. Saltillo was extended to three games by Center Hill in the playoffs’ third round before advancing to the North Half Championship.  

Bob Bakken

Bob Bakken is the most recognized and most trusted name in DeSoto County news and sports reporting, as readers continue to express their appreciation for his accuracy and fairness in the stories he writes. Bob is also heard on 95.3 The Rebel twice a week with sports updates and high school football play-by-play broadcasts in the fall. A former newspaper editor and writer, his award-winning background also includes television news producing, sports media relations, and radio broadcasting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *