Desoto County News

District 5 Supervisor primary race to be contested

Three names are on the August primary election ballot for the open supervisor seat

Note: This story will be updated.

Incumbent Republicans have qualified for several county positions that will be on the August 2023 primary election ballot. The qualifying period continues through the end of business day on Wednesday, Feb. 1.

As of mid-morning on Jan. 9, the only contested primary race at this time will be for the District 5 seat on the Board of Supervisors. That is the seat current supervisor Michael Lee is leaving to run for County Sheriff.

Lee has not qualifed for the Sheriff’s spot on the ballot, but is expected to do to so later in the week. When he does, Lee will put his name up against Thomas Tuggle II, who has already qualfied, making that the second contested race on the Republican primary ballot.

Three Republicans have qualified for the District 5 Supervisor seat on the August primary ballot. They are former state Representative and former candidate for governor Robert Foster, current Horn Lake City Administrator Jim Robinson, and John (Jack) C. Scott Jr.

The four other members of the DeSoto County Board of Supervisors, all Republicans, have qualified for reelection. They are Jessie Medlin, current Board President Ray Denton, Lee Caldwell and Mark Gardner, and all four at this time are running unopposed.

Republicans have also qualified for other county positions, except for County Attorney, and Election Commissioners for Districts 2 and 4, where no one has put their name on the ballot at this time.

There are no Democrats who have qualified for any of the county posts as of mid-morning Monday, according to the candidate list provided by the Circuit Clerk’s office.

The complete list, as provided by the Circuit Clerk’s office is found at this link.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *