Desoto County NewsMississippi News

Nearly all counties now under mask mandate

Mississippi Gov. Tate Reeves Tuesday announced additional COVID-19 measures in an effort to keep Mississippians safe during this holiday season. The Executive Orders that are in place are set to expire on Friday, Jan. 15th, 2021.  

The following counties have been under county wide mask mandates after meeting the certain requirements in relation to COVID-19: 

Adams, Alcorn, Amite, Attala, Bolivar, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Clay, Coahoma, Copiah, Covington, De Soto, Forrest, Franklin, Grenada, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Itawamba, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Kemper, Lafayette, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Leflore, Lincoln, Lowndes, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Panola, Pearl River, Perry, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Stone, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Union, Washington, Webster, Winston, Yalobusha and Yazoo.

These counties that are being added today have also met the specific criteria to be placed under a mask mandate: 

Benton, George, Greene, Hancock, Humphreys, Jasper, Leake, Newton, Pike, Quitman, Smith, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Walthall, Warren, Wayne and Wilkinson.

As of now, 78 of Mississippi’s 82 counties are under mask mandates.  While this holiday season is coming up, please remember to social distance, keep gatherings small, and wear your mask.  

“We all need to be extra aware,” Reeves said. “You know what to do! Protect yourself and your family.  Stay safe, and Merry Christmas.”

A copy of the Executive order can be found here.

Gov. Tate Reeves official news release

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *