Checklist available for cannabis dispensary applicants
For a business to become a medical marijuana dispensary in Mississippi, there are a number of steps that must be taken to achieve a license to do so.
The Mississippi Department of Revenue has come out with a checklist for dispensary applicants.
The application process is to be done electronically and the checklist was conceived by the state DOR working with the state Department of Health.
The online applications will be available no later than July of this year and licenses will be issued no later than 30 days after all of the documentation has been received.
The license fees can be pricey. There will be a $40,000 licensing fee that includes a $15,000 non-refundable application fee and an annual $25,000 license fee.
Sales tax on medical cannabis is also to be collected, so dispensaries will need to register for a sales tax account and apply for a permit.
You can read more about the applicants’ requirements here.
Southaven and Horn Lake have opted out of the Medical Cannabis Act at this time. The law was passed by the state Legislature in February.
The Department of Revenue has a map available where the full list of entities that have opted out is available here.