Desoto County News

Olive Branch Mayor’s Youth Advisory Council announced

Mayor Ken Adams and the City of Olive Branch have announced the 2023-2024 Mayor’s Youth Advisory Council, the first of its kind.

The inaugural Council is composed of 25 high school juniors and seniors who are residents of Olive Branch from across six area high schools: Center Hill, DeSoto Central, DeSoto Christian Academy, Lewisburg, Northpoint Christian, and Olive Branch high schools.  

Council Members are as follows: 

  • Addison Williams
  • Ayanna Showkat
  • Brooklyn Richmond
  • Campbell Perry
  • Colton Lee
  • Destiny Rodrigiez
  • Devon Hughes
  • Jayden Purnell
  • Kylan Speed
  • Kyle Chen
  • Lindsey Ruff
  • Madeline House
  • Marco Findley II
  • Matthew Fitsum
  • Mia Puentas
  • Nicolas Warner
  • Olander Buford
  • Olivia Allen
  • Olivia Court
  • Peter Baskhairoun
  • Quinn Thurman
  • Rylee Vandeford
  • Sarah Grace Niblett
  • Sydney Skinner
  • Zahir Guiterrez

This council will meet monthly from September through April and will focus on leadership and civic development. Council members will help develop and lead initiatives with the support of adult mentors, provide valuable insight on issues affecting youth and the community, and have the opportunity to attend the Mississippi Municipal League (MML) Statewide Youth Leadership Summit in the Spring of 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *