DeSoto County residents have an opportunity to save on their property taxes each year if they apply for and receive a homestead exemption. It’s a special provision in state tax laws that will reduce property taxes on their primary home if homeowners apply for it.
The application period is now through 5 p.m. on April 1 and once the homestead exemption is received, the homeowner does not have to reapply for it every year, unless changes to their situation come up during the year. To apply, homeowners need to come to the County Tax Assessor’s Office at 365 Losher Street in Hernando.
There are a number of items to bring with you when you come in to initially apply for a homestead exemption:
- A copy of your recorded Warranty Deed
- Your Mississippi car and/or truck tag numbers
- Social Security Numbers for You and Your Spouse if You Are Married
- Birth dates for you and your spouse or all parties applying for homestead
- Your closing or settlement statement
- If you are over 65 years of age by January 1st of the filing year, bring proof of birthday to qualify for additional tax exemption.
- 100 percent disabled individuals qualify for additional tax exemption, you will need to bring proof of disability from the Veterans Administration or the Social Security Administration.
- If you need further information, please call 662-469-8029.
There may be reasons that you will have to reapply for a homestead exemption, and if you do, you’ll have to come back to the County Tax Assessor’s Office, sign a new application and have records updated. It’s possible you can lose the homestead exemption if that information is not updated and the applicant has the responsibility to provide it.
- Did you get a divorce/separated recently? (Must bring Divorce Decree)
- Did you get married? (Need copy of Marriage License)
- Did you receive a property through a will or court order? (Must bring copy of will or court order)
- Did you add, remove or change a name on your deed? If so, this becomes a change in ownership. Law states that if there is a change in ownership you must re-file your homestead to reflect this change. MS Code 27-33-31
- Has the property (legal) description changed? Law states that you must re-file reflecting this change. MS Code 27-33-3
- Has the occupancy of the homesteaded property changed? (you must re-file reflecting this change) MS Code 27-33-31
- Are you a 100 percent disabled American veteran? (This disability must be service related and you must bring paperwork that states this)
- Death of a Spouse? (You do not have to resign a new application, but, you do have to verify with the Chancery Clerk’s office that you qualify for the same exemption that the deceased spouse was receiving at time of death. Please provide a death certificate of the deceased spouse, proof of age if you are over 65, and or disability paperwork if you are declared disabled. This information helps us determine if you still qualify for the same exemption to keep you from having to sign a new application.) MS Code 27-33-3
A homestead exemption is not automatic and there can be reasons for having the application denied. If your homestead is denied you will be charged back the amount of credit you received and will be billed separately the following year.
- Can not owe Mississippi income tax
- Can not have homestead on any other property in the county or any other state; you must live full time on property receiving homestead
- Claiming to be a resident of another state when assessed with income tax.
More information on homestead exemption is found on the following links: