The start of July means that several new laws passed by the Mississippi state Legislature will go into effect. Here’s a review of those new laws that will now be on the books.
- If you have an occupational license from another state, in most cases, you will now be allowed to have that license recognized by Mississippi licensing authorities. That license must be in good standing for at least a year. House Bill 1263 does not cover attorneys or doctors, but does cover occupations such as veterinarians, dentists, nurses, accountants and cosmetologists.
- K-12 teachers and teacher assistants are getting a $1,000 pay raise in the state share of their salary from House Bill 852.
- House Bill 1135 allows home delivery of beer, wine, and liquor from liquor stores and other retailers in a 30-mile radius of the stores. Dry counties are not included and no sales are allowed on Sunday or on Christmas Day. Hours the rest of the week are from 10 a.m.-10 p.m. Purchasers and delivery drivers must be at least age 21.
- A concealed carry permit may be combined with a driver’s license or state ID Card under Senate Bill 2253.
- Senate Bill 2313 addresses names, images, and likeness (NIL) of college athletes in Mississippi, allowing athletes to work with an agent to use their NIL for product endorsement and get paid for that. The NCAA late Wednesday announced a temporary policy to allow college athletes at its member schools to get endorsements, effective Thursday.
- A task force to study Mississippi’s domestic laws, including divorce, was created under Senate Bill 2621.
- Those identified as males at birth cannot participate in female sports activities under Senate Bill 2536.
Other laws that go into effect, starting July 1, will center on criminal justice reform, giving those in prison more opportunities to earn parole, and allowing additional rights to women in prison, including more opportunity to see their minor children.
Teachers from out-of-state with valid teaching licenses and coming to teach in Mississippi will be issued a Mississippi teaching license within 14 days after the state Department of Education receives their application.