Mississippi News

Mississippi 4-H wins National Forestry Invitational

Photo: Mississippi team members were Karolina Heathcock, William Cody McFetridge, and Ashlyn Henderson (L-R).  The team coach was Ray Henderson and assistant coach Jennifer Henderson. (Courtesy photo)

Congratulations are in order to the Mississippi 4-H team that placed first among 11 states competing in the 42nd annual National 4-H Forestry Invitational. Teams from Louisiana and Florida placed second and third, respectively.  Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Pennsylvania, and Utah also competed in this year’s Invitational.  

Mississippi’s Karolina Heathcock had the highest overall score in the contest.  The second-place individual was Ashlyn Henderson from Mississippi and the third-place high individual was Caden Conley from Louisiana.  

The Joe Yeager “Spirit of the Invitational” award was presented to Keller Stinson from Utah.  This award recognizes an outstanding 4-H contestant at the Invitational. It is presented to the individual who takes initiative, is enthusiastic, and is eager to lead academic and social situations.

The Tommy and Susan Futral Inspiration of the Invitational Award was presented to the Oklahoma team consisting of McKayla Brents, Autumn Diggs, Samantha Scott, Stacey Scott, and coach Alicia Brents.

Learn more by visiting the National 4-H Forestry Invitational website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *