Congressmen, Senators offer resolution congratulating Ole Miss NCAA baseball title

U.S. Senators Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), and Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), and U.S. Representatives Trent Kelly (R-Miss.) and Michael Guest (R-Miss.) today announced a resolution celebrating the University of Mississippi’s baseball team for their victory in the Division I college baseball championship.

Wicker, Hyde-Smith, and Shaheen, who is an Ole Miss graduate, introduced the resolution in the Senate on Tuesday.  Kelly and Guest will introduce a companion resolution in the House of Representatives.

Citing the University of Mississippi’s “magical” run through the playoffs to secure the school’s first baseball championship, the resolution recognizes both the individual efforts of several players as well as the combined team effort that led the school to victory.

The University of Mississippi finished its season with a 4-2 win over the University of Oklahoma in the final game of the college championship.  Along the way, the team posted a 10-1 record in the postseason, and 22-year head coach of the team Mike Bianco was awarded the National Coach of the Year award by the American Baseball Coaches Association.

The University of Mississippi baseball team’s win brought back-to-back Men’s College World Series wins to the State of Mississippi after Mississippi State University won the national championship last year.

Read the full resolution here.

A full House resolution text is provided here.

Bob Bakken

Bob Bakken is the most recognized and most trusted name in DeSoto County news and sports reporting, as readers continue to express their appreciation for his accuracy and fairness in the stories he writes. Bob is also heard on 95.3 The Rebel twice a week with sports updates and high school football play-by-play broadcasts in the fall. A former newspaper editor and writer, his award-winning background also includes television news producing, sports media relations, and radio broadcasting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *