Desoto County NewsDesoto County Sports

State Senate honors champion Quistors with resolution

The Mississippi Senate on Thursday, April 11, honored the Olive Branch High School Conquistadors boys basketball team and Head Coach Eric Rombaugh, with presentation of Senate Resolution 48 for winning the MHSAA 2024 Class 6A State Championship. It is Olive Branch’s second State Championship after winning it for the first time in 2018.

The 2023-24 Olive Branch High School “Conquistadors” Boys Basketball Team Championship roster is:  Javion Stephen, Kelton Brown, Jerry Wall III, Zahir Gutierrez, Caleb Hunt, King George, Antonio Batteast, James King III, Reece Garrison, Jadyn Jefferson, Emery Shannon, Gabriel Banks, Taiveon Mitchell, James Hill, Jaiden Brunson, Josiah Blackwell, Jaylen Shields and Tommy Callicut; and Head Coach Eric Rombaugh.

Included in the photo is DeSoto County state Sens. Dr. David Parker (R-Olive Branch,) Kevin Blackwell (R-Southaven) and Michael McLendon (R-Hernando).