Gilbert, Morgan named state Coaches of the Year

Photo: Lake Cormorant’s Christina Morgan, named Mississippi Association of Coaches volleyball Coach of the Year. (Bob Bakken/

Two DeSoto County coaches have been honored by the Mississippi Association of Coaches. They were named state Coach of the Year in their respective sports.

Cody Gilbert of Lewisburg was tabbed as the boys’ bowling Coach of the Year. Gilbert’s Patriots won the MHSAA Class III state championship.

Christina Morgan was selected as the girls’ volleyball Coach of the Year. Morgan led the Lady Gators to the MHSAA 5A state volleyball title.

Here are the Coaches of the Year, as selected by the Mississippi Association of Coaches.

Bob Bakken

Bob Bakken is the most recognized and most trusted name in DeSoto County news and sports reporting, as readers continue to express their appreciation for his accuracy and fairness in the stories he writes. Bob is also heard on 95.3 The Rebel twice a week with sports updates and high school football play-by-play broadcasts in the fall. A former newspaper editor and writer, his award-winning background also includes television news producing, sports media relations, and radio broadcasting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *