All-county softball team named

The 2023 All DeSoto County Softball Team has been announced. Here are the honorees:


  • 1st Team – Emma Abrams (Lewisburg)
  • 2nd Team – Kate Johnson (Hernando)
  • Honorable Mention – Colby Young (Desoto Central)


  • 1st Team – Leona Klaire Stokes (Lewisburg)
  • 2nd Team – Savannah Wilbanks (Desoto Central)
  • Honorable Mention – Lindsey McMahon (Southaven)

1st Base:

  • 1st Team – Olivia Higginbotham (Hernando)
  • 2nd Team – Anna Etter (Lewisburg)
  • Honorable Mention – Katelyn Short (Desoto Central)

2nd Base:

  • 1st Team – Callie Desmond (Hernando)
  • 2nd Team – Alivia Burns (Lake Cormorant)
  • Honorable Mention – Kara Walker (Lewisburg)


  • 1st Team – Aubrey Williams (Lewisburg)
  • 2nd Team – Reagan Dale (Desoto Central)
  • Honorable Mention – Jayla Sites (Hernando)

Third Base:

  • 1st Team – Leah Walker (Lewisburg)
  • 2nd Team – Hayden Hodge (Hernando)
  • Honorable Mention – Mackenzie Cobb (Center Hill)


  • 1st Team – Avery Taylor (Hernando), Londen Armstrong (Desoto Central), Ally Agner (Hernando), Madalyn Savage (Lewisburg)
  • Honorable Mention – Avery Williams (Lewisburg) & Katelyn Kirkpatrick (Hernando), Brianna Johnson (Southaven)

Designated/Utility Player:

  • 1st Team – Alyssa Duckworth (Lake Cormorant)
  • 2nd Team – Maddie McClendon (Southaven)
  • Honorable Mention – Lindey Willhite (Center Hill)

Coach of the Year:

  • Nicki Whitten (Hernando)

Bob Bakken

Bob Bakken is the most recognized and most trusted name in DeSoto County news and sports reporting, as readers continue to express their appreciation for his accuracy and fairness in the stories he writes. Bob is also heard on 95.3 The Rebel twice a week with sports updates and high school football play-by-play broadcasts in the fall. A former newspaper editor and writer, his award-winning background also includes television news producing, sports media relations, and radio broadcasting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *