Desoto County News

Winners advance in runoff races

Danny Klein, David Young and Ben Piper are the apparent winners in Tuesday’s primary runoff races in Horn Lake and Hernando.

Klein, facing Chad Engelke for the Horn Lake Alderman at-Large Republican spot on the June general election ballot, won by a 487-220 margin.

Klein will face William Egner for the seat on the Board of Aldermen. Egner advanced over Francis J. Miller in the Democratic primary earlier this month.

Young recovered from a second-place finish to Roberts in the Horn Lake Republican primary vote for Ward 4 to outpoll Roberts 69-63 on Tuesday night. Roberts is the current Alderman representing Ward 4.

Young will now face Democrat Lisa Hall-Hayes in the June general election vote.

Meanwhile in Hernando, Piper has apparently advanced with a 245-228 win over Ryan Diffie. Piper is elected to the Board of Aldermen in Hernando for Ward 6 because he will be unchallenged by a Democratic opponent in the June general election.

All of Tuesday’s vote totals are unofficial pending vote certification.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *