Desoto County News

Teachers of the Year honored at school board meeting

DeSoto County Schools Teachers of the Year were recognized as part of Thursday’s school board meeting in Hernando.  

Each of the 43 schools’ Teacher of the Year selections were noted, along with the district’s Teacher of the Year, Rachel Jenne’ of DeSoto Central Middle School. 

From left, First Horizon Client Specialist Nikki Gurley, North Mississippi Market President Michael Parker, Supt. Cory Uselton, and First Horizon Senior Vice President and Community Banker Chris Canoy. (Courtesy photo)

In addition to being recognized to the Board of Education, First Horizon Bank North Mississippi Market President Michael Parker made a presentation of $5,000 to the district as a sponsor of the program, along with DeSoto Family Dental Center.

The funds are being divided among each teacher, who received $100 in classroom funds and gift bags from First Horizon.

In addition, Jenne’ earlier this year was awarded $500 in classroom funds by First Horizon after she was named the district Teacher of the Year.  

There is also a drawing being done by First Horizon with one of the individual teachers receiving an additional $200 in classroom funds.  

Following is a listing of each school’s Teacher of the Year:

DeSoto County Schools Teachers of the Year 2021-22

Photos of the Teachers of the Year are found on the DeSoto County News Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *