Desoto County News

Reeves extends mask mandate to March

Mississippi Gov. Tate Reeves Wednesday announced the decision to extend Executive Order 1535 and Executive Order 1536 until Wednesday, March 3 at 5 p.m.

Under Executive Order 1536, the following counties are currently under a county wide mask mandate after meeting certain requirements in relation to COVID-19: 

Alcorn, Amite, Attala, Benton, Bolivar, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Claiborne, Clarke, Clay, Coahoma, Copiah, Covington, DeSoto, Forrest, Franklin, George, Greene, Grenada, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Humphreys, Itawamba, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Kemper, Lafayette, Lamar, Lauderdale, Leake, Lee, Leflore, Lincoln, Lowndes, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Panola, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Stone, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Walthall, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Winston, Yalobusha and Yazoo Counties 

“We as Mississippians have to continue to take this virus seriously,” Reeves said. “We are continuing to work to get shots in arms and provide vaccines to those who meet the requirements.  Please continue to social distance, wear your mask and keep your gatherings small.”

A copy of the executive order 1543 can be found here.

Gov. Tate Reeves media release

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *