Desoto County News

Primary qualifying period ends, candidates listed

We now have a clearer picture of what the August primary election ballot will look like in DeSoto County. 

The qualifying period for candidates ended at 5 p.m. Wednesday. Candidates who qualified before the deadline must now be certified by their respective parties, which should be accomplished within the next couple of weeks, before their names appear in the Aug. 8 primary.

At the county level, there are three contested primary races, all on the Republican side. They are the race for sheriff between Michael Lee and Thomas Tuggle II; Supervisor District 3 between Ray Denison and Bobby G. Reed; and Supervisor District 5 between Robert Foster, Jim Robinson, and John (Jack) C. Scott Jr.  

Contested races in November at the county level are: Supervisor District 1 between incumbent Jessie Medlin (Republican), Bobby Cowan Sr. (Democrat), and Marcus Turner (Independent); Justice Court Judge District 4 between Brad Russell (Republican) and James E. Woodward (Democrat); Justice Court Judge District 5 between Chris Hanna (Independent) and Karen Sanders (Republican); and Election Commissioner District 2 between Zelda Hill (Democrat) and Tim Snyder (Republican). 

The race for Supervisor District 3 will have Democrat William E. Egner awaiting the winner of the Republican primary between Denison and Reed to run against in November.  

The other county offices had no opposition at the deadline. There was one change of note near the deadline, however, as District 2 Constable Mitzi Hodge withdrew her name from consideration. Her husband Brad Hodge has instead qualified, is being supported by Mitzi Hodge, and will have no opposition.  

The complete list of the county candidates is found on the DeSoto County Government website.  

Republican House of Representatives candidates who have qualified are Justin Keen and James “Jimmy” Wallace in House District 6; Kimberly Remak, James “Jamey” Goodkind, and Progeorlan Walker in House District 7; Randy Denton in House District 9; Rodney Hall and Charlie Hoots in House District 20; Jeff Hale in House District 24; Dan Eubanks in House District 25; John T. Williams in House District 28; Charlie Roberts and Jacob Hisaw in House District 40, along with Bill Kinkade in House District 52.  

Republican Senate candidates are: Michael McLendon and Steve Hopkins in Senate District 1; David Parker in Senate District 2; and Kevin Blackwell and Walter Hopper in Senate District 19. 

There will also be a Republican primary election for District Attorney between Bob Morris and Matthew Barton; and a three-person Republican primary race for Northern District Public Service Commissioner between Mandy Gunasekara, Tanner Newman, and Chris Brown. John Caldwell is the lone Republican running for Northern District Transportation Commissioner.  

Democratic House of Representatives candidates are: Jarvis Cook in House District 6; David Olds in House District 24; Hester Jackson McCray in House District 40; and Dianne Black in House District 52.  

Democratic Senate candidates are: Gail Lyons in Senate District 1; Pam McKelvy in Senate District 2; Robert Jackson in Senate District 11; and Sandy Kerr in Senate District 19. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *