Desoto County News

Horn Lake natives receive Northwest Foundation scholarships

The Northwest Mississippi Community College Foundation awarded students scholarships for the 2023-2024 academic year on May 17 at the Northwest DeSoto Center. The following students from Horn Lake and the scholarships they received are as follows: 

  • Mia Mosley of Horn Lake, The Joe and Jean Beckum Endowed Scholarship; 
  • Eriny Jones of Horn Lake, The Alan Beevers Endowed Scholarship; 
  • Kyaria Matthews of Horn Lake, The Shirley Clanton Endowed Scholarship; 
  • Anna Fulcher of Horn Lake, The Ann Eliza Allison Harris Endowed Scholarship; (second row L-R) 
  • Stephanie Torres of Horn Lake, The John and Stelloise Basinger Endowed Scholarship; 
  • Halley Eberly of Horn Lake, The Students Honoring Bobby King Endowed Scholarship; 
  • Kyler Hilliard of Horn Lake, The Don and Charlotte Johnston Endowed Scholarship; 
  • Jacorey Heard of Horn Lake, The Tim Charlton Industrial Maintenance Technology Annual Scholarship; 
  • Hunner Forsythe of Horn Lake, The Cadence Bank Share the Future Annual Scholarship; 
  • Jasmine Collins of Horn Lake, The Catherine Robertson Newman Endowed Scholarship.

Bob Bakken

Bob Bakken is the most recognized and most trusted name in DeSoto County news and sports reporting, as readers continue to express their appreciation for his accuracy and fairness in the stories he writes. Bob is also heard on 95.3 The Rebel twice a week with sports updates and high school football play-by-play broadcasts in the fall. A former newspaper editor and writer, his award-winning background also includes television news producing, sports media relations, and radio broadcasting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *