Desoto County NewsMississippi News

Reeves adds more counties to Safe Recovery order

Today, Governor Tate Reeves announced additional counties that have qualified and met certain requirements to be placed under mask mandates with his “Safe Recovery” executive order that is in effect until Dec. 11.

Those additional counties are: Alcorn, Attala, Bolivar, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lincoln, Lowndes, Neshoba, Panola, Perry, Prentiss, Stone, Tippah, Tishomingo, and Union. As of now 41 of Mississippi’s 82 counties are included within this order.

The list of counties that are already under the order includes DeSoto County.

Mississippi Gov. Tate Reeves

“As we go into Thanksgiving, please be extra cautious and look out for your loved ones. These are critical times,” Reeves said. “There is much more COVID-19 around us, and therefore a greater risk that you pass the virus to someone that you love dearly.”

A copy of the executive order can be found here

NOTE: Tuesday’s report on coronavirus cases in Mississippi from the state health department lists 669 new cases and 53 new deaths in the state. One of the new death reports comes from DeSoto County and is from a death certificate between Oct. 15-Nov. 18.

As of Tuesday’s report, DeSoto County has reported 9,632 positive cases of coronavirus and there have been 99 death reports. DeSoto leads the state in the number of positive cases of coronavirus found.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *