All-state football team selections announced

Players from Southaven, DeSoto Central, Center Hill and Lake Cormorant are mentioned on the Mississippi High School Football Coaches All-State teams announced during the state championships this weekend in Hattiesburg.  

All-state teams were selected in voting by the coaches across the state who are members of the Mississippi Association of Coaches. 

The Defensive Player of the Year in Class 6A is Southaven’s John Slaughter, a senior defensive back. 

Charger teammate C.J. Rayborn, a senior offensive lineman, was selected as a second-team offensive team choice.  

On the defensive side of the ball, DeSoto Central junior linebacker Taurean Davis was tabbed as a first-team selection and Center Hill senior punter Carter Burton was chosen to the second team, as well.  

In Class 5A, Lake Cormorant junior defensive end Kamarion Franklin was named the state 5A Defensive Player of the Year and he is joined by Gator senior Ryder Burns on the 5A all-state first team.  

Bob Bakken

Bob Bakken is the most recognized and most trusted name in DeSoto County news and sports reporting, as readers continue to express their appreciation for his accuracy and fairness in the stories he writes. Bob provides content for DeSoto County News and occasionally is heard on the OB Pod podcast talking about area happenings. A former newspaper editor and writer, his award-winning background also includes television news producing, sports media relations, and radio broadcasting.