Desoto County News

Southaven Chamber celebrates award winners

The Southaven Chamber of Commerce Tuesday afternoon/evening held a “Party on the Patio” at its office that included the presentation of the Chamber’s annual awards. The chamber each year recognizes a Man of the Year, Woman of the Year, Small Business of the Year, Corporate Business of the Year, and Non-Profit of the Year. The chamber also awards its Southaven Young Professional, or SYP, of the Year, The Spirit of Main Street Award for a business located in the original district of Southaven, and a Chamber Ambassador of the Year, the chamber member who helps spread the word about the organization promoting the business world in Mississippi’s third-largest city.

The event in the past has been a large dinner event at the Landers Center, however with the COVID-19 pandemic, the chamber made it a smaller activity outside in its patio area and the adjacent parking lot.

Following are the list of nominees, names, and photos of the winners.

Man of the Year Nominees:
Barry Bouchillon – State Farm Insurance
Cory Uselton – DeSoto County Schools – WINNER

Cory Uselton, DeSoto County Schools – Man of the Year

Woman of the Year Nominees:
Sarah Edmiston – Southgroup Insurance
Carmen Kyle – Southaven Chamber – WINNER

Carmen Kyle, Southaven Chamber of Commerce – Woman of the Year

Small Business of the Year Nominees:
ACs Steakhouse – WINNER
Pottery Haven
95.3 & Guess FM – Mighty Media Group

Aaron Hahn and Cindy Borkowski, AC’s Steakhouse and Pub, Southaven – Small Business of the Year

Corporate Business of the Year Nominees:
Iron Mountain
Olive Garden – WINNER

Donna McDonald, Olive Garden – Corporate Business of the Year

Non-Profit of the Year Nominees:
Life Fellowship Church – WINNER
Northwest Church of Christ
Trinity Baptist Church

Tony Boyd, Life Fellowship-Southaven – Non-Profit of the Year

SYP (Southaven Young Professional) of the Year Nominees:
Matthew Kelso
Rachel O’Halloran
Olivia Craig – WINNER

Olivia Craig, Community Bank, Southaven Youth Professional of the Year, with from left, Ford Moore and Barry Prather

Spirit of Main Street Nominees:
Delta Gastroenterology/Delta Weight Management – WINNER
Ultimate Patios, Windows, & Doors
Direct FX

Delta Gastroenterology/Delta Weight Management – Spirit of Main Street Award

Ambassador of the Year: Janet Mote – Mote Plumbing

Janet Mote, Mote Plumbing – Ambassador of the Year

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *