Desoto County News

Northwest CC Cheer Team recognized by Senate

The Mississippi Senate on Tuesday, March 22, honored the Northwest Mississippi Community College Cheer Team and Coach Brandon Casey with Senate Concurrent Resolution 578 for their recent win of the Open Small Coed National Championship, beating Trine University and Coastal Alabama Community College. The team also won titles in the 2021 UCA College Nationals in Orlando, Fla. Coach Casey has been with the team for three years and now has three national titles.

Members of the 2022 Open Small Coed National Championship Cheer Team are:  Rainy Bordlon, Ja’Dyn Brand, Makyla Brannon, Molly Brewer, Kaylie Burrows, Sara Ellis Dean, Christina Evans, McKenzie Henderson, Kayla Horne, Hartley Houston, Haven Hubbard, Summer Hughes, Ethan Hunt, Josie Kennedy, Devon Kurns, Zach Letson, Alyssa Martin, Ashton McMinn, Halle New, Reagan Ochner, Dakota Petty, Jonah Pike, Jamilia Richmond, Madelyn Riley, Missy Smallie, Cullen Southward, Tiffany Spivey and Samaryous Walker.

Shown with Cheer Team members and school administrators are: Senators Michael McLendon, Robert L. Jackson, Lydia Chassaniol, Kevin Blackwell, Neil Whaley and Nicole Boyd.

Northwest Mississippi Community College Cheer Team with state Senators. (Courtesy photo)
Advertise and support local journalism on DeSoto County News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *