Desoto County News

Jan. 31 UPDATE-DeSoto County primary candidates list

You can see the list of candidates who have qualified for the Aug. 8 primary election in DeSoto County here.

The Mississippi Republican Party has a real time spreadsheet of the party candidates for state level offices which you can find here.

This list is being updated on a daily basis through the end of the qualifying period on Feb. 1.

JAN. 31 UPDATE: Bobby Cowan Sr. has added his name as a candidate for Supervisor District 1. Cowan has qualified as a Democrat.

JAN. 24 UPDATE: Chris Hanna has added his name on the list of candidates qualifying for election. Hanna has qualified for Justice Court Judge District 5 as an independent. Karen Sanders qualified for reelection as a Republican.

JAN. 23 UPDATE: The Republican primary for District 3 Supervisor has become a two-person race with incumbent Supervisor Ray Denison now facing a challenge from Bobby G. Reed. One Democrat has qualified for the position with William E. Egner on the list.

JAN. 20 UPDATE: Zelda Hill has qualified as a Democrat for Election Commission in District 2. Sissie Ferguson has qualified as a Republican for Election Commission in District 4.

JAN. 12 UPDATE: The Republican primary for DeSoto County Sheriff was made official with the qualifying of Michael Lee as a candidate. Lee will face Thomas Tuggle in the August primary. James Woodward has qualified as a Democrat to run for Justice Court Judge in District 4.

JAN. 10 UPDATE: The first Democrat has qualified for a county position on the 2023 ballot, as William Egner qualified as a Democrat for District 3 Supervisor. Egner at this time is unopposed for the August Democrat primary election, but his qualifying would potentially in November put him against current supervisor Ray Denison, who has qualified as a Republican.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *