Desoto County News

Athletes qualify for Special Olympics Games

There will be four young athletes from DeSoto County as part of a 170 member delegation taking part in the USA Special Olympics Games, scheduled for June in Orlando, Florida. 

The group won first place in their powerlifting division at the recent State Games held Oct. 21. 

The quartet from DeSoto County will include Trey Burnside, Jesse Wims, Teddy Underwood, and Seth Slocum.  

According to the website, “the concept of Special Olympics began in the early 1960s when Eunice Kennedy Shriver started a day camp for individuals with intellectual disabilities. From that experience it was clear that people with intellectual disabilities were far more capable in sports and physical activities than many experts believed. In 1968, Mrs. Shriver organized the first International Special Olympics Games at Soldier Field in Chicago, where 1,000 athletes from the United States and Canada competed in track and field events and aquatics.

“That same year, Shriver visited Ellisville State School in Jones County and 150 athletes participated in track and field events at the first Special Olympics games in Mississippi, held at the University of Southern Mississippi. Special Olympics Mississippi officially incorporated and was recognized by the State of Mississippi in August 1975.”

Four young men from Mississippi Area 16 Special Olympics have qualified for the USA Special Olympics Games, starting June 22. They were congratulated by members of the Horn Lake Police Department. The group includes Trey Burnside, Jesse Wims, and Teddy Underwood. Representing the police department were Officer Michael Pressgrove, Lt. Kevin Nelson, Lt. Ben Swan, Major Nikki Lanphere, and Assistant Chief Scott Brown. Not shown in Seth Slocum, who also qualifed for the USA Games in powerlifting. (Bob Bakken/DeSoto County News)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *