Mississippi News

Wicker, Hyde-Smith cosponsor Employee Rights Act

U.S. Senator Roger Wicker, R-Miss., and Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith, R-Miss., have cosponsored the Employee Rights Act of 2022, legislation that would protect workers and small businesses from the pro-labor union tactics advanced by the Biden administration.

The bill would update and modernize the Employee Rights Act to protect independent contractors, franchisees, entrepreneurs, and anyone seeking flexible work options.

“Preserving the right of workers to choose how they earn a living is a cornerstone of the American economy,” Wicker said. “I am glad to join Senator Tim Scott to advance legislation that respects this freedom and gives power back to our workers instead of overreaching labor unions.”

“The Employee Rights Act is a strong response to the heavy-handed approach by President Biden and his labor union allies to impose more control over workers and businesses in an era where our nation needs the opposite,” Hyde-Smith said. “This legislation would update the nation’s labor laws to protect the ability of small businesses, independent contractors, and gig workers to operate and innovate with greater freedom.”

“The complexities of our modern economy demand creative, forward-thinking legislation that gives workers and small business owners stability and flexibility,” said U.S. Senator Tim Scott, R-S.C., who introduced the bill Tuesday. “The Democrats continue to push for legislation that prioritizes politics over people by protecting labor unions at the expense of workers. The Employee Rights Act puts workers back in the driver’s seat by giving them basic protections and the power to choose how to make a living for themselves and build a future for their families. I am grateful to my colleagues who are joining me in this fight to make workers’ voices heard in the halls of Congress.”

Additional cosponsors include Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee Ranking Member Richard Burr, R-N.C., Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., and Senators John Thune, R-S.D., John Barrasso, R-Wyo., Mike Braun, R-Ind., Roger Marshall, R-Kan., Jerry Moran, R-Kan., Tommy Tuberville, R-Ala., Jim Risch, R-Idaho, Mike Crapo, R-Idaho, John Cornyn, R-Texas, Steve Daines, R-Mont., Cynthia Lummis, R-Wyo., Bill Hagerty, R-Tenn., John Boozman, R-Ark., Thom Tillis, R-N.C., Kevin Cramer, R-N.D., Mitt Romney, R-Utah, Tom Cotton, R-Ark., Jim Inhofe, R-Okla., and Ron Johnson, R-Wis.

Click here to read the legislation, which more than 60 pro-worker and pro-business groups support.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *