State Treasurer McRae announces 2022 Art Contest winners

Winners take home $3,500 worth of scholarships

Mississippi State Treasurer David McRae has announced the 2022 College Savings Mississippi Art Contest winners with a reception at the Mississippi Museum of Art. Twelve students and one teacher took home a combined $3,500 worth of scholarships during the event.

“In these students’ artwork, we saw the beauty of their creativity, but also a snapshot of their dreams,” said McRae. “I am excited to see where these dreams will take them, and I’m thrilled to help them along with a scholarship from College Savings Mississippi.”

The College Savings Mississippi Art Contest is an annual event held by the State Treasurer’s Office. This year, more than 1,700 students competed for twelve scholarships by drawing a picture of what they wanted to become when they grew up. First place winners will receive a $500 scholarship in the form of a Mississippi Affordable College Savings (MACS) account. Second place receives a $250 scholarship, and third place receives a $100 scholarship.

MACS is a Mississippi 529 College Savings plan offered through the Office of the State Treasurer. With MACS, families can open a tax-advantaged savings account for educational expenses. The money in these accounts can be used for college tuition and expenses. The funds can also be applied to secondary and elementary private tuition, apprenticeship programs, student loans, and more. For detailed information about the program, please visit


Age Group: Early Elementary (PreK-Grade 2)

1st Place: Brandon Chapman, Flowood Elementary School in Flowood 

2nd Place: Allegra Browne, First Presbyterian Day School in Jackson 

3rd Place: Atharva Mantri, Northeast Elementary School in Meridian 

Age Group: Elementary (Grades 3-5)

1st Place: Amaan Joes Jemsheer, Pillow Academy in Greenwood 

2nd Place: Hudson Presley, Ida B Wells APAC in Jackson

3rd Place: Abigail Carroll, Ocean Springs Upper Elementary in Ocean Springs 

Age Group: Middle School (Grades 6-8)

1st Place: Abigail Zariah Moore, Oak Grove Middle School in Hattiesburg 

2nd Place: Jaliyah Bell, Ida B Wells APAC in Jackson 

3rd Place: Andre Clay, Ida B Wells APAC in Jackson

Age Group: High School (Grades 9-12)

1st Place: Lillianna Johnson, Harrison Central High School in Gulfport

2nd Place: Ashton Watson, Starkville Academy in Starkville

3rd Place: Ella Frances Parker, Saltillo High School in Saltillo

Photo: State Treasurer David McRae with Art Contest winners. (Courtesy photo)

Bob Bakken

Bob Bakken is the most recognized and most trusted name in DeSoto County news and sports reporting, as readers continue to express their appreciation for his accuracy and fairness in the stories he writes. Bob is also heard on 95.3 The Rebel twice a week with sports updates and high school football play-by-play broadcasts in the fall. A former newspaper editor and writer, his award-winning background also includes television news producing, sports media relations, and radio broadcasting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *