Mississippi News

MDOT District 2 Equipment Operators Roadeo winners

The Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) held its annual Equipment Operators Roadeo for District 2 at the district headquarters in Batesville on April 4.

“Expertise displayed at the equipment operators rodeo was impressive,” said Commissioner John Caldwell, Northern Transportation District. “What a perfect time to promote skills training and safety! I was especially encouraged by the number of “orange vests” which indicate our most recently hired employees. Our MDOT family is built around a team of people, and events like this show it clearly.”

Focusing on efficiency and skill, MDOT’s roadeos provide employees with an opportunity to display their mastery of vehicle handling, trailer maneuvering and heavy equipment precision. The event and judging criteria provide feedback and help operators evaluate their strengths and challenges. Operators improve techniques and learn new skills while engaging in some friendly competition.

District 2 events and winners are as follows:

  • Lowboy: First Place – Chris D. “Buck” Arbuckle; Second Place – Thomas R. Goode; Third Place – Telly N. “Big T” Doyle.
  • Single-Axle Dump Truck: First Place – Damon C. Braddock; Second Place – Terry A. King; Third Place – Lamont Peterson.
  • Tandem-Axle Dump Truck: First Place – Edward T. “Tyrone” Thompson; Second Place – James S. Anderson; Third Place – Justin R. Applewhite.
  • Backhoe: First Place – Thomas R. Goode; Second Place – Taylor Gross; Third Place – Stetson Hankins.
  • Motor Grader: First Place – Thomas E. “Tom” Malone; Second Place – Nicholas D. “Nick” Brower; Third Place – Tommy C. Rogers.
  • Tractor Mower: First Place – Anthony R. “Ant” Denunzio; Second Place – Thomas R. Goode; Third Place – Thomas E. “Tom” Malone.
  • Skid Steer: First Place – Fletcher D. Moorman; Second Place – Shaun R. Dees; Third Place – David R. Ward.