Mississippi News

Jackson gears up for the 2024 Dixie National Parade

The annual Dixie National Parade will be held on Saturday, Feb. 10, at 10:30 a.m. in downtown Jackson. This beloved event that traditionally kicks-off rodeo competitions will include an array of rodeo queens, marching bands, decorative floats, car and tractor clubs, riding groups, the famous Dixie National Wagon Train and much more.

“I want to invite everyone to come out to the Dixie National Parade as we celebrate ‘Mississippi – Where Music was Born’ as this year’s theme,” said Mississippi Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce Andy Gipson. “With special appearances from various, unique participants and local celebrities as parade judges, this event is the perfect outing that the whole family will enjoy.”

Beginning at the corner of Mississippi and Jefferson streets, the procession will travel down Mississippi Street, circle the State Capitol, and finally take a left onto Amite Street before returning to the State Fairgrounds. Spectators are encouraged to watch from the Capitol grounds near President, High and West streets for the best views. Parking will be available at the Capitol grounds and surrounding parking lots.

Local celebrity and distinguished judges will determine the first and second place winners within each category of parade participants. This year’s judges include WLBT News Anchor Maggie Wade; former Miss Dixie National Rodeo and current Boswell Media Marketing Specialist Lisa Moore; Mississippi 4-H President Ty Franklin; and Mississippi FFA President Ashton Luke. Following the parade, Mississippi’s Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman will present awards to the winning parade groups at the Mississippi Farmers Market at 12:30 p.m.

For more information and a full event schedule on the 59th Dixie National Livestock Show and Rodeo, visit www.dixienational.org, download the mobile app and follow the Dixie National Livestock Show & Rodeo on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *