Desoto County News

Municipal Election Day- DeSoto County Election Results

Voters across DeSoto County and the state of Mississippi are electing aldermen and mayors for their communities today, Municipal General Election Day.

Polls are open from 7 a.m.- 7 p.m. across the state.

Bookmark this page where we will update vote totals as they are received from the various clerk’s office. You will find those numbers on this sheet linked below. As it is updated to the sheet, the link will automatically be updated, as well.

Municipal Election Results

Return to this page often on Election Day, as we will also update it with other pertinent information regarding Muncipal Election Day here in DeSoto County.

FINAL UPDATE: All unofficial vote totals are now in. Check the Municipal Election Results link above for the spreadsheet.

9:45 PM UPDATE: The Ward 4 tape is in and we’ll have the final numbers shortly. Darren Musselwhite and George Payne won in Ward 4 and can be unofficially considered winners for Mayor and Alderman At Large, respectively.

9:15 PM UPDATE: Some Olive Branch results are starting to trickle in. Pat Hamilton and Joy Henderson have each won re-election to their Ward aldermen positions.

8:55 PM UPDATE: Still awaiting Olive Branch vote totals and Ward 4 from Southaven to complete the evening. Check the spreadsheet link for updated totals.

8:30 PM UPDATE: A computer issue is the delay in getting Ward 4 done. Numbers are being returned to City Hall at this time. That is the one Southaven Ward yet to report. Joel Gallagher had already advanced from there in the primary but it’s the votes for Mayor and Alderman At Large that are affected.

Town of Walls aldermen winners are noted on the spreadsheet. Incumbent Mayor Keidrom Henderson did not have opposition. Vote totals were not available immediately but will be provided Wednesday morning, according to the Town Clerk Kathy Gordon.

8:05 PM UPDATE: All but Ward 4 in Southaven has been reported. Incumbent Ward aldermen have all won, and William Jerome takes the post in Ward 3.

7:40 PM UPDATE: Southaven Ward Six numbers are in. Raymond Flores wins Ward Six Alderman race over Pamela McKelvy Hamner 810-281. Darren Musselwhite outpolled Tommy Henley in the ward for mayor 817-268. George Payne finished ahead of Brandy Gull 831-253 for Alderman At Large.

7:00 PM UPDATE: Polls are now closed in DeSoto County and the state of Mississippi. Return to this page and the link above for vote totals as they are received from the various city clerks and the Town of Walls Clerk.

1:20 PM UPDATE: Secretary of State Michael Watson said he has been traveling North Mississippi today and has observed a “less than ideal voter turnout,” he said. “We’ll have poll observers in close to 60 cities today, making sure our election laws are being followed.”

An issue Watson said was among the calls to the department’s Elections Hotline has been about the conduct of poll observers at the polling place. Poll observers are only allow to watch and not walk among the voters or campaign at the polling site. A city clerk in one of the DeSoto County cities today echoed that concern that first-time poll observers were not adhering to the rules.

“As a reminder, it is unlawful to campaign for any candidate within 150 feet of any entrance to a polling place unless on private property,” Watson said. “Additionally, all poll observers are advised to follow the conduct guidelines listed on our website.”

This page will be updated.

3 thoughts on “Municipal Election Day- DeSoto County Election Results

  • Patrick Johnson

    Residents forced into olive branch by annexation are not eligible to vote. We are eligible to be taxed. How is this even legal?

  • Michael Carpenter

    The election results are a private google link instead of public. Could you update it to make it public?

Comments are closed.