Desoto County News

Lewisburg holds band senior signing ceremony for scholarships

Photo: Lewisburg High School band seniors who signed band scholarships during a signing event on Tuesday, May 7 at the school. They are joined by Director of Bands Kim Pickering, members of the band program staff, and principal Kris Perkins. (Credit Tony Dixon/Dixon Creative Images.) 

A special ceremony for seniors of the Lewisburg High School band program moving to a college program was held for them to “sign” their band scholarships. 

“These 18 seniors have chosen to participate in band at the next level and have secured a band scholarship for their hard work and talents,” said Lewisburg Director of Bands Kim Pickering.  “Sports holds signing ceremonies when athletes earn scholarships and we felt our band seniors should also have an opportunity.”  

Nine colleges and universities were represented in the signing ceremony with schools from Mississippi, Alabama, and Michigan. The Lewisburg band program has won several championships and has a tradition of excellence for performance at the county and state level.  

In addition to the students and families of the signing seniors, representatives Dr. Tim Oliver from University of Mississippi, Tim Garrett from Northwest Mississippi Community College, and Austin Fitch from Mississippi State University were in attendance.  

Following are the seniors who signed their band scholarships during Tuesday’s signing event.  

Mississippi State University

  • Mackenzie Thomasson 
  • Caleb McCain
  • Eli Frain 
  • Daniel Potts 
  • Ryne Morgan

University of Alabama

  • Claire Taylor

Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College

  • Lilly Potts

Itawamba Community College

  • Amber Andersen

University of Mississippi

  • Addy Terry
  • Allyssa Castner 
  • Anna Gehrett
  • Mary Alice Latham

Northwest Mississippi Community College 

  • Abby Houck 
  • Makenzi Duffie
  • Dean Simpson
  • Dylan Finch*

University of Western Michigan 

  • Caden Miller*

Mississippi College

  • Aleks Pannell*

(*-not pictured)

Photos are found here. Photo credit to Tony Dixon/Dixon Creative Images.