Denison named to lead Board of Supervisors in 2023

The DeSoto County Board of Supervisors gaveled in session and organized for the new year Tuesday morning with a change of leadership for 2023.  

New Supervisors Board President Ray Denison with former Board President Michael Lee.
(Bob Bakken/

District 3 Supervisor Ray Denison was named to take the gavel and lead the board during the calendar year. Denison was the board vice-president in 2022 and replaced District 5 Supervisor Michael Lee, who is finishing his term this year as he makes a run to become DeSoto County Sheriff. 

Lee Caldwell was named as board vice president. The county board of supervisors has traditionally rotated its members in leadership positions and this was Denison’s first time as board president. He served as vice president last year.

Along with the election of officers, the board Tuesday morning was introduced to new 4-H agent Laura Anglin and approved appointments for the coming year as nominated by each board member.  

Bob Bakken

Bob Bakken is the most recognized and most trusted name in DeSoto County news and sports reporting, as readers continue to express their appreciation for his accuracy and fairness in the stories he writes. Bob provides content for DeSoto County News and occasionally is heard on the OB Pod podcast talking about area happenings. A former newspaper editor and writer, his award-winning background also includes television news producing, sports media relations, and radio broadcasting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *