Desoto County News

DCS announces Vals, Sals, STAR Students and STAR Teachers

Note: This item is being reposted to include photos and to correct spelling and omissions from the source.

DeSoto County high schools have announced student and teacher honors, naming valedictorians, salutatorians, STAR Students and STAR Teachers for the eight high schools in the DeSoto County School District (DCS).

They will be recognized at an upcoming DCS School Board meeting on Thursday, April 18. 

The students named are selected based on academic achievement. The valedictorian has the highest weighted grade point average in the senior class; the salutatorian has the next highest weighted grade point average in the graduating class. The STAR (Student Teacher Achievement Recognition) Student and Teacher program was established by the Mississippi Economic Council in 1965. 

American College Test (ACT) scores and scholastic averages are compared to determine each high school’s STAR Student. Every STAR Student is asked to designate a STAR Teacher who has made the greatest contribution to the student’s scholastic achievement. 

Following are the valedictorians, salutatorians, STAR Students and STAR Teachers from each DCS school.

Center Hill

  • Valedictorian: Louise Isabel Delos Reyes
  • Salutatorian: Kyle Chen
  • STAR Student: Kyle Chen
Center Hill

DeSoto Central

  • Valedictorian: Chandler Ragan
  • Salutatorian: Taif Alnajjar
  • STAR Student: Noah Peyton
  • STAR Teacher: Brent Embry
DeSoto Central


  • Valedictorian: Marianna Fulcher
  • Salutatorian: Lillian Thompson
  • STAR Student: Mariana Fulcher
  • STAR Teacher: Greg Abernathy

Horn Lake

  • Valedictorian- Raul Iniguez Chavira
  • Salutatorian- Arabella Gaskins
  • STAR Student- Raul Iniguez Chavira   
  • STAR Teacher- Michael Kinney
Horn Lake

Lake Cormorant

  • Valedictorian – Roston Sartain
  • Salutatorian – Tyrone Chatman, Jr.
  • STAR Student – Roston Sartain
  • STAR Teacher – Mark Smith (formerly of Lake Cormorant, now with DeSoto County Alternative Center)
Lake Cormorant


  • Valedictorian – Jessi Nicole Wood
  • Salutatorian – Katelyn Marie Moore 
  • STAR Students:
    • Elijah Frain
    • Claire Taylor
    • Jessi Wood
  • STAR Teachers:
    • Sara Locascio
    • Dr. Lacey Fitts
    • Martha Austin

Olive Branch

  • Valedictorian – Callie Curran
  • Salutatorian – Logan Durley
  • STAR Student – Callie Curran
  • STAR Teacher – Ashley Berryhill (CTC East)
Olive Branch


  • Valedictorian – Eduardo Esperon Jr.
  • Salutatorian – Mandi Smith
  • STAR Student – Eduardo Esperon Jr.
  • STAR Teacher – Sarah Rausch