Meet the CandidatesMississippi News

Presley launches “Rural Mississippi Counts,” rural leaders backing his campaign

Photo: Brandon Presley announces his “Rural Mississippi Counts” initiative at Cedar Bluff on Tuesday, Aug. 29. (Courtesy photo)

Democratic candidate for governor Brandon Presley has announced his “Rural Mississippi Counts” initiative, which includes the endorsement of rural leaders backing him for governor.

A son of small-town Mississippi, Presley has successfully worked to expand high-speed internet access, cut taxes, and balance budgets. Meanwhile, Tate Reeves continues to ignore rural communities across the state, including the rural hospitals that are losing jobs, cutting services, and shutting down altogether.

“I’ve been a small-town mayor, and I understand the challenges our rural communities are going through – which is why as governor, I will expand Medicaid to keep our rural hospitals open, which are the lifeline of communities across Mississippi,” Presley said. “That’s why I’m proud to announce ‘Rural Mississippi Counts,’ an initiative of our campaign to focus on the communities that make up the heartbeat of Mississippi. “For too long, Tate Reeves has ignored rural communities to prioritize the country club elites who can give him thousands of dollars in campaign cash – that ends when I’m governor.”

Below are the first rural leaders endorsing Brandon Presley’s campaign for governor:

Johnny Thomas, Mayor of Glendora
Phillip Baulch, Mayor of Nettleton
Reggie Moore, Leflore County Supervisor
Roderick Woullard, Forrest County Supervisor
James Dunn, Tunica County Supervisor
Fred Magee, Holmes County Supervisor
Jackie Bradford, Scott County Supervisor
Derrick Simmons, Minority Leader of the State Senate, Greenville
Debra Mabry, Holmes County Supervisor
Bryant Clark, State Representative – District 47, Pickens
Hosea Bogan, Monroe County Supervisor
Daryl Porter, State Representative – District 98, Summit
John Faulkner, State Representative – District 5, Holly Springs
Kelvin Butler, State Senator – District 38, McComb
Otis Anthony, State Representative – District 31, Indianola
Robert Sanders, State Representative – District 29, Cleveland
Robert Jackson, State Senator – District 11, Marks
Timaka James-Jones, Yazoo County Circuit Clerk and State Representative-Elect – District 51
Orlando Trainer, Oktibbeha County Supervisor
Leah Brown, Mayor of Sturgis
Johnny Morrow, Starkville
Amber Mabus, Gore Springs
Dr. Julie Fulgham, Maben

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *