Seven players named to post-season all-star rosters

Seven DeSoto County high school football players will have one more game to play at the end of the current football season. Five have been named to represent the state and two will play for the North Half in all-star football action.

The Mississippi Association of Coaches Wednesday announced the rosters for the annual Mississippi/Alabama All-Star Football Game and the Bernard Blackwell North-South All-Star Game. 

The annual battle between Mississippi and Alabama will be played this season in Montgomery, Alabama on Dec. 12. The Bernard Blackwell North-South Game is the following Saturday, Dec. 19. There is yet to be a site and time for the contest, which traditionally has been played in Gulfport.

The five from DeSoto County representing the Magnolia State in the Mississippi/Alabama game at defensive back Charles Thomas and defensive lineman Thurman Rayborn, both of Horn Lake; defensive back Tony McCray Jr. and offensive lineman Gabe Cavazos, both of Lake Cormorant; and Southaven wide receiver Isaiah Brevard.  

On the North roster for the Bernard Blackwell game are running back Darryen Hobbs of Center Hill and wide receiver Reid Flanagan of Hernando. 

Bob Bakken

Bob Bakken is the most recognized and most trusted name in DeSoto County news and sports reporting, as readers continue to express their appreciation for his accuracy and fairness in the stories he writes. Bob is also heard on 95.3 The Rebel twice a week with sports updates and high school football play-by-play broadcasts in the fall. A former newspaper editor and writer, his award-winning background also includes television news producing, sports media relations, and radio broadcasting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *