Desoto County NewsMississippi News

Senators receive leadership posts on committees

The three DeSoto County state senators have received leadership positions on committees announced on the Senate floor on Thursday, Jan. 11. 

State Sen. Dr. David Parker (R-Olive Branch) will be the chair of the Accountability, Efficiency and Transparency committee. State Sen. Kevin Blackwell (R-Southaven) will head the Medicaid Committee and be vice-chair for the Elections Committee.  State Sen. Michael McLendon (R-Hernando) will lead the State Library Committee and be vice-chair on the Insurance Committee.  

“We have spent hundreds of hours working on these assignments,” said Lt. Gov. Delbert Hosemann in a statement. “My decision in these appointments is to place Senators in the best position to serve the State of Mississippi and the citizens who sent us here; secondly, where they are best positioned to serve the Mississippi Senate; and finally, to honor each Senator’s committee preferences where it was feasible to do so.”

For full committee membership, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *