Desoto County News

Mississippi Center for Reentry announces new board members

Mississippi Center for Reentry has announced the appointment of seven members to the Board of Directors.

“I am thrilled for the 2024 new board appointments”, said Carla Ross, Board Vice President and Assistant Community Development Officer with Guaranty Bank.

Board members are as follows:

  • Sabrina Smith – first female to be exonerated from death row in the United States and the state of Mississippi,
  • Angela Dawson – Assistant Southern Program Director at Jobs to Move America,
  • Nathaniel Williams II – Justice Court Pilot Program Policy Fellow at Mississippi Center for Justice,
  • Lorinda Tomlinson – Recovery and Resiliency Mississippi Market Lead, at Optum/United Healthcare,
  • Sherry Hawkins – Catholic Social Services Minister at Sacred Heart Southern Missions,
  • Antuan Haggan – CEO at Haggan Insurance

“It gives me great pleasure to partner with our new Board members as I continue to build and grow the Mississippi Center for Reentry (MS Reentry) as a world class nonprofit reentry organization that is responsive to the needs of justice-involved Mississippians”, said Cynetra Freeman, founder of MS Reentry.

Since April 21, 2017, the Mississippi Center for Reentry has worked tirelessly to unlock second chances for system-impacted Mississippians through strategic reentry services that helps them achieve post incarceration resiliency.